Book Review: I Spider by Anthony Lance

As someone who is terrified of spiders, you can perhaps understand why it took me so long to read this book by Anthony Lance (visit his blog here).  I can dream up some pretty scary stuff without needing someone else’s imagination to do it for me.  However, I gathered my courage, steeled my will and braved the book, only to find out that it didn’t scare me that much at all!  I could have read the book months ago!  That being said, before I read this book, I pretty much knew I was never going to Australia.  Now I am certain I’m not.  So…

The story is set in Australia and is based around the main character (Tony) who slowly succumbs to mental illness, bouts of which seem to deepen the older he gets and the more his life takes a knock.   Cut off from society, his mind turns to revenge and murder, his chosen method of killing being the venom of a funnel web spider.

Well, now I have read it and wow – what a brilliant book, probably one of the best books I have read this year.  In my opinion (for what that’s worth) you will never come across many stories like I Spider.  The style in which it is written is unique.  Descriptions are detailed and vivid.  The book is even peppered with a handful of pictures – not just of spiders. You find yourself drawn into the story, so much so that you can’t stop reading (I read this book in one sitting; I couldn’t put it down as it were).

The talented author makes you almost comfortable with Tony’s madness; it is clearly evident and yet so…matter-of-fact… His recollections are all over the place, chronology-wise, so that you are aware of the psychological state of his mind.  As I said, strange, yet captivating.  You want to know whether Tony will go through with it.  You want to know whether he can in fact regain his sanity.  You want him to have a happy ending.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something a little different; I believe you won’t be disappointed.  I loved it, and will return to read it again.  With this review I have even begun to implement a  rating system, just so you realise how much I liked the book.  Anything less than 5 out of 5 would be a crime!

You can get yourself a copy of this great read, for the Amazon Kindle, by clicking here.

One thought on “Book Review: I Spider by Anthony Lance

  1. Pingback: Book Review: I Spider by Anthony Lance | The Life and Times of a Forever Witch

Leave a Reply

