Book Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

angelfall front coverAngelfall is the first in the trilogy Penryn and the End of Days by Susan Ee.

It has been six weeks since the world as we know it was destroyed.  Angels have returned to Earth, turning it in a war zone, wreaking havoc and spreading panic.

Penryn, a seventeen year old girl, is arguably having a tougher time than most.  Her mother suffers from serious bouts of mental health issues and her younger sister, Paige, is wheelchair-bound.  Having to negotiate the dangerous streets terrorised by angels and where violent gangs roam is no easy feat, when the safety of all those you care about relies solely on your efforts.

When a group of angels take to the skies carrying off Paige in front of her sister’s eyes, Penryn vows she will do anything to get her sister back.  And that involves capturing a wounded angel of her own and making a deal with him.

But can she trust him?  And is it even possible for her to get Paige back? After all, she has no idea where they have taken her.

First, this was an impulse buy.  The cover caught my eye in a bookshop when I was on a cosy mystery book buying binge and I was intrigued by what I read on the back cover.

After reading it, I must say that I was not disappointed.  In fact, I was very quickly drawn into the story, consuming it in its entirety in one sitting.  Having only read a handful of books that deal with the apocalypse (the only one I can recall in any detail being Amanda Hocking’s Hollowland) and none whose main focus is on angels, I was unsure of what to expect.

However, the plot and pace of the book ensured that I was swept along with Penryn on her journey.  The subject of her mother’s mental health issues were sensitively dealt with, and the emotions Penryn moves through as she undergoes this impossible challenge to reunite her family as the world is falling apart around her struck a chord with me.  The other characters that we meet along the way are interesting and help to show what people are facing and how they are trying to cope.

There were plenty of twists and turns in the story, some I expected but others I didn’t.  The last few chapters especially came as a surprise to me as I was sure that the book was going to end differently.

As paranormal reads go, this was both entertaining and captivating and I would not hesitate to recommend it to fans of the genre.  Needless to say, the two remaining books in the trilogy, World After and End of Days, have been added to my “must buy” book list.

Leave a Reply

