Book Review: Ghost Town by Rachel Caine

ghost-town-front-coverGhost Town is book nine in the Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine.

Since Ada (the ghost in the machine, a main character from Fade Out) no longer operates the machine that protects the boundary of Morganville and ensures those that do leave have a nice, wiped clean memory, the security risks to the town and its secrets have become big on the agenda.  Amelie, the Founder, has instructed super smart Claire Danvers to fix the machine – and the problem – for her or face some serious consequences.

Somehow Claire manages to do it.  But something is wrong.  The memory-wiping aspects of the device seem to be effecting those within the town, rather than outside of it.  And when there is only a fine line between vampires and humans co-existing on a good day in Morganville, you don’t want to be in it when the living and the undead have forgotten how they are supposed to be behaving…

Will Claire and her friends be able to fix the problem before it gets out of hand?  Or are they all destined to lose their memory?

Out of the series so far, this is my favourite book.  I am quickly finding once again how addictive these books are, as soon as I pick them up I struggle to put them down unless I have finished them!

Ghost Town is a high energetic, emotive read, full of action.  I liked seeing how the different characters we had come across in previous books behaved differently in this one, and the emotions of those witnessing what was going on could easily be felt as I followed the story.  In places I felt my eyes welling up, whilst in others I couldn’t help but cringe.

The storyline was captivating throughout, and as the twists and turns unfolded – many of which I didn’t see coming, especially the ending – I knew I just had to keep on reading until the last page.  All-in-all, great stuff!

At the end of the book was an extra short story based in the Morganville Vampires world.  This one, called Worth Living For, was set between Fade Out and Kiss of Death, and was told from the point of view of Shane.  I found this just as engaging to read as the novels, and so felt thoroughly treated! 🙂

I am eager to start reading book ten in the Morganville Vampires series, Bite Club,

Leave a Reply

