Book Review: Black Dawn by Rachel Caine

black-dawn-by-rachel-caine-front-coverBlack Dawn is the twelfth book in the Morganville Vampires series by Rachel Caine.

Morganville – the small Texan town where humans and vampires live together in relative harmony – is falling apart.  After the arrival of the draug, the only creature that can truly inspire fear in the heart of a vampire, things take a decidedly dark turn in the town.  When the draug show up, vampires either run or die.

However, whilst most of the town’s inhabitants have been evacuated, Claire, Eve, Shane and Michael decide to stay and take the fight to the draug.  They do, after all, have good reason to wish them dead.

But when Amelie, the town’s founder is bitten by the master draug, not only do they have to win the battle but find a cure…before it’s too late.

I am really enjoying reading the story from the many different viewpoints, so this development in the storytelling was a great idea.  It gives the reader a wider scope and can reveal more of what is going on beyond the the main character’s immediate environment.

The draug are an interesting enemy and I found learning how they effect both humans and vampires both scary and intriguing.  There are a few major plot twists that I did not anticipate, which is always great, and the pace of the story kept me hooked until the very end.

When you reach this far in a series, you always wonder how long the author can keep you interested in the characters and the trials they face.  That doesn’t seem to be a problem with the Morganville Vampires, I am happy to say.

I am looking forward to reading book thirteen in the series, and I am intrigued to find out where Morganville and its inhabitants can go from here.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Black Dawn by Rachel Caine

  1. Wow, keeping up the readers’ interest and coming up with new twists in book *12* really is impressive. These days, though, I’m hesitant to even pick up a book if I know there are that many more books to read in a series; just too much commitment when I have so little book-reading time as it is. But so many books are written in series these days, it’s hard to avoid. I’m currently reading book 3 of a 3-part (I hope) series, but I read the first two so long ago now, I barely remember them. I have another book 3 of another 3-part (I hope) series on my shelf, and a ton of other half-started series waiting for me to get back to them. (sigh)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Funnily enough these books aren’t mine, as I too would tried to keep clear of such a long series, unless it was an author I really liked. However, someone bought them for my younger sister and gave them to me, to give to her and I thought, “Why not read them first?” Which worked out quite well 🙂

      I try, when I can, to read a series in one go because I hate not being able to remember the minute details that turn out to be major twists later on. But it hardly ever works out that way. And sometimes I don’t realise a book is part of a series until I reach the end, which happened to me a few months ago. It got to the last couple of pages and I was starting to think that there was still too much ground to cover…and then, on the last page it basically said the story continues in book 2! But there was nothing on the book cover that said it was part of a series. I was not happy…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Grr — I would really be upset to be tricked into a series like that! Actually, that’s how I ended up reading the Wheel of Time series. I found the first book (someone had dropped it in a parking lot) and read it before realizing it was the first in a series. But that was my faults for not reading the cover, which clearly said so.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

