Looking Ahead to Festive Reads Fortnight 2016

festive reads fortnight

I know it might seem a little early, but we like to plan ahead here at Sammi Loves Books.  Well…sometimes 😉

This year’s Festive Reads Fortnight begins on 11 December 2016.  I have a few stories that I have been putting to one side for this reading challenge, but I am always eager for more. 😀  If you have any recommendations or review requests for stories that centre on the Christmas / Winter Solstice period (no matter the length or genre, whether self-published, or posted on a blog or Wattpad, etc), I would love to hear from you!  Comment below or contact me through my ‘Contact Me’ page.

To see what I read for last year’s Festive Reads Fortnight, click here.

Can’t wait to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Looking Ahead to Festive Reads Fortnight 2016

  1. I couldn’t think of any real holiday-themed books (well, except the obvious ones, like Dickens’ Christmas Carol and kids books like the Grinch). So I looked through a bunch of “best of” lists on Goodreads for suggestions. Wow, there are a whole lot of horrible-looking, tacky-sounding titles out there. I’ll admit I zipped through and was literally judging the books by their covers (and titles), but I couldn’t find a single one that intrigued me. I think you are taking on a seriously difficult challenge indeed, to find holiday-themed books that are worth reading and reviewing. I wish you good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree – there does seem to be some quite awful sounding / looking titles out there – but I suppose that can be said about non-Christmas books too. However, I admit that when it comes to this time of year, I read things I don’t think I would at any other time, as the books I chose last year showed.

      Also, the reason I came up with the challenge was that last November / December I was in a local bookshop and noticed shelves upon shelves of Christmas fiction and I didn’t even know it was a thing. Not many of them caught my attention / interest, thus the challenge 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know that holiday-themed movies have branched out, at least a little — comedies, yes, but also dramas that are more about the family getting together and all the, well, “drama” that can lead to. The books seemed more one-note than that, but then, maybe that’s just the covers. You have your work cut out for you, I’d say!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a lovely idea! I’ve just bought ‘Twelve Days of Christmas’ by Trisha Ashley. It sounds like an easy-to-read Christmas romance, so it’ll be a nice book to relax with after I get through all of my University reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

