Book Review: The Map by T.S. Learner

the-map-front-coverA coded map, which intimates that there are secret locations across Europe where it is claimed the answers to the great mysteries can be revealed, has been discovered.  August Winthrop is following the clues, but he is not alone.  There are others who want the answers he seeks and are willing to go to great lengths to get them.

As he is pursued across Europe by spies, secret agents and those that dabble in black magic, he will have to use all the skills and contacts he picked up when he worked as an SOE operative during the war.  But will it be enough or will a great power that has remained hidden for centuries fall into the wrong hands…

This is going to be quite a mixed review.

I have to admit, I struggled with this book, even though I usually enjoy these conspiracy-thriller-adventure type stories.  The reason for this is that I found it difficult to connect with any of the characters, which made it hard for me to care about what happened to them.

On the upside, the description of people and places found along the journey made it easy to visualise what was going on.  That, coupled with the period setting of the 1950’s and the post WWII world, especially Europe, ensured that no matter how much I struggled with the characters, I did keep reading on until the very end.

My favourite parts of the story line involved the mystical and magical (as always), but there are a great many threads to keep track of through this very long book (my copy ran to nearly 600 pages).  I wonder if there had been fewer of these story threads whether I would have found the book as a whole easier to digest…

This is the first book I have read by the author, but I would definitely give another one of their books ago.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Map by T.S. Learner

  1. The premise sounds promising — a map of secrets — but I’d have a hard time with characters I couldn’t relate to, too. And since I’m not a big fan of that period, that would be a minus for me, not something keeping me engaged through an extra long book with lots of subplots. Sometimes a review is great because even when the reviewer liked it, I learn that I probably wouldn’t, so thanks Sammi!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

