Sammi Loves Books – Year in Review 2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2016 has been a great year for books.  The over-riding theme for the year was “read, review and recycle,” (by recycle, I mean donating to charity or giving away to friends and family).  The reason for this: I have finally realised I have an addiction to books; when you have bookshelves in front of bookshelves and piles of books on each step of the stairs, you know you have a problem…That’s not to say that every book I read and review was removed from the house, only the books I couldn’t imagine reading again.  It’s a start at least, and something I will carry with me into 2017.

I’m once again surprised that I only read and reviewed 56 stories / books this year, exactly the same as last year, which I am more than a little disappointed with.  Next year I am determined to have written at least 57 reviews.  However, my Goodreads reading challenge only reckons I’ve read 8, but then my goal was 72.  One of my New Year’s resolutions is to get to grips with updating Goodreads on a regularly basis, something I have failed to do since I signed up there years ago…

A Few Highlights

  • Getting a signed paperback copy of Vastian Lore by S.C. Gregory from the author via a giveaway on her blog.
  • Receiving a paperback copy of The Devil’s Chalice by D.K. Wilson from the publisher.

Top Ten Favourite Reads of 2016

This is how my top ten list stands at the end of the year:

  1. The Ambassadors’ Mission (Trudi Canavan)
  2. One Corpse Too Many (Ellis Peters)
  3. The Devil’s Chalice (D.K. Wilson)
  4. Venus in Copper (Lindsey Davis)
  5. The Raven’s Head (Karen Maitland)
  6. A Clash of Kings (George R. R. Martin)
  7. Just Breathe (Sarah Doughty)
  8. Glass Houses (Rachel Caine)
  9. The Woman in Black (Susan Hill)
  10. Death of a Cad (M.C. Beaton)

Reading Challenges

Indie Only Month 2016:

My favourites were “Just Breathe” and “Vastian Lore” – I adored them both.

Historical Fiction Month 2016:

My favourites were “The Devil’s Chalice” and “Venus in Copper”, closely followed by “The Raven’s Head” and “Dissolution”.

Festive Reads Fortnight 2016:

So that is my year in books summarised.  I hope you all had a great 2016, and wishing you a 2017 filled with good books!

4 thoughts on “Sammi Loves Books – Year in Review 2016

  1. Once again, I am so impressed with how much you read, especially that you reviewed them too! And you know my stance on this: update your Goodreads more often, my Goodreads friend! I made my Goodreads goal higher this year, although nowhere near as high as yours, and so far I have read.. Zero. Not an especially auspicious beginning, I’d say! Well, I am almost done with the first book. Maybe they will zip by faster after I get back into the groove.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL – I have yet to do anything on Goodreads this year. And, it was one of my resolutions to get to grips with it in 2017. Sigh. When I first signed up to it, I used to post the highlights of the reviews I posted here, but I think as long as I at least try and rate the books I’ve read, I’ll count that as a success! So, resolution amended…hopefully I’ll be able to stick to it now 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You can do it! After all, it’s the reading of the books that takes the most time, and you’re already doing that. (I got another 6 pages through mine last night before conking out. At this rate… Well, let’s just say this rate isn’t working for me.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

