Book Review: Bitter Blood by Rachel Caine

Bitter Blood is book thirteen in the Morganville Vampires series by Rachel Caine.

Summary:

Things are never easy in Morganville.  Now that the only thing vampires are scared of – the draug – are no longer a threat, the delicate balance in the town where humans and vampires have just about managed to get along, is thrown into disarray.  Vampires, who had kept some of their wilder instincts in check thanks to the effort by the town’s founder, Amelie, are suddenly allowed to indulge in their every whim – no matter the cost to the human population.

But this is Morganville.  Will the living inhabitants of the town decide to cower in a corner or fight for their lives?  Once again, the inhabitants of the Glass house find themselves stuck in the middle, and their list of friends is dwindling all the time…

To complicate matters further, a group of ghost hunters are in town, filming for their latest TV show.  Surely that can only end in disaster?

Favourite Quote:

I lifted up the right slipper again and addressed its soggy little head.  ‘I’m afraid I might have

to leave you behind.  And you too, twin.  It will be difficult enough to climb without you hampering me.

And your fangs aren’t very sharp.’

Review:

It’s been months since I last visited Morganville.  I must admit that I was apprehensive as I read the first few pages, wondering if I was going to enjoy this book as much as I remembered enjoying the rest of the series.  After all, we are on book thirteen now, and I kind of felt as if I was waiting for the bottom to fall out of the series; can something this good really stay this good or will there come a time when I think that the latest book doesn’t live up to the rest?

I needn’t have feared.  It wasn’t long before I was completely immersed in the town and characters’ lives once more, wondering how Claire, Shane, Michael and Eve were going to get out of the latest mess they found themselves in.  But as always, Myrnin stole the show; my favourite quote from the book is courtesy of this rather strange, wonderful character.

Again we are given glimpses into other characters POV, which certainly adds an extra dimension to the story as well as heightening the tension as the tale unfolds. There were a good number of plot twists that I didn’t see coming, and the drama was nicely interspersed with action, ensuring the pace never falters.  Al-in-all, an entertaining, addictive read.

As I write this review, I’ve already read books fourteen and fifteen in the series, so you can expect to see those reviews posted soon.

Rating:

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Bitter Blood by Rachel Caine

  1. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – March 2017 | Sammi Loves Books

  2. Wow, they must be good, if you’re still reading at #15! I’m definitely not going to allow myself to start any new book series until i finish all the series that I have started. But then, I clearly can’t get through as many books as you can. How much time do you spend reading per day, Sammi? You must be a really fast reader!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think a part of it is they are quick and easy to read and pure escapism. I’m not really a fan of taxing my brain when I’m trying to relax 😉 I read whenever I get a moment, which, unfortunately is not as often as I used to. But I am a fast reader. Part of that comes from knowing there are so many books out there that I want to read and that the list is growing all the time and I’m worried that I’ll never get around to reading them all…

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s true that I’ve been reading some heavy or otherwise hard to read stuff lately. And I’m reading at the very end of the day, when I’m exhausted and have had a glass of wine – not good for reading quickly. But the big problem is that I can only get an hour, maybe 1.5 hours of reading in on a good day, and none on the rest. Well, not including reading at meals, but that’s normally a writing craft or reference book, or the newspaper. (Right now, for instance, I’m reading a book on Medieval foods and cooking during meals.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve been avoiding reading heavy stuff lately – my concentration hasn’t been up to it, hence the short stories and YA. But, I still have The Turn of the Screw to read, which I might get around to this month because I have so many reviews waiting to be written, so I can afford to turn my attention to a classic.

        The book on medieval foods and cooking sounds interesting, especially to read at meal times.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I ended up reading in the afternoon for a change yesterday, and wow, it really did make a difference in terms of how quickly I finished the rest of the book, that I wasn’t tired and that I could concentrate. But yes, mostly I’m reading denser books that make me think a lot, so it’s harder to write the reviews; I think about the book for a couple days, sometimes, before putting my thoughts down. The one I just finished was “Parable of the Sower” by Octavia Butler. Then last night I started “Sense of Style” by Steven Pinker. I figured that would be good to read during Camp NaNo — it’s about writing, but not something that will keep sending me back to revise my novel when I’m supposed to be working on short stories.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I just looked up “Sense of Style” on Goodreads. It sounds very interesting and very useful – definitely a great read during Camp. I think I’ll add that to my “to be bought” list 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s a lot more technical than other writing craft books. He doesn’t just give advice to write this way, do this, don’t do that. He gets into the linguistic theory about how readers understand writing, and why authors write the confusing ways that they do. Right now I’m in a chapter that has a lot of sentence diagramming. It’s a bit thick going, but worth it! Pinker’s style of writing is, as you might imagine from the topic, as direct and easy to read as it could be, given the complexity of the topic.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

