Book Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

This is the first book in the Fallen series by Lauren Kate.

Summary  (blurb taken from the back of the book)

Some angels are destined to fall.

Instant. Intense.  Weirdly familiar…The moment Luce looks at Daniel she knows she has never felt like this before.  Except she can’t shake the feeling that she has…and with him…a boy she doesn’t remember ever setting eyes on.

Will her attempt to find out why enlighten her – or destroy her?

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a thrilling story about forbidden love.

Favourite Quote

Trust is a careless pursuit at best.  At worst, it’s a good way to get yourself killed.

Review

This was another book that hooked me via a really cool front cover.  Gothic, dark, mysterious artwork coupled with an engaging blurb (see summary above) had me buying not only the first book in the Fallen series, but book number two too!

And it was an all right story.  I didn’t really like Luce though.  My favourite character of the book was Luce’s friend Penn – full name Pennyweather Van Syckle-Lockwood.  She was the saving grace of this book.  The other characters lacked enough depth for me to really be interested in why they were there.

I expected more from this story.  It tried to be too mysterious, I think, and in so doing, basic explanations of what was going on were sacrificed.  However, I did read to the end of the book, I loved the front cover and Penn was an interesting character, hence the 2.5 / 5 score.

Had I not already bought the second book in the series, I am doubtful as to whether I would have read it.  But I did, and I have, and I will be sharing the review shortly.

Rating

2.5 / 5

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

  1. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – June 2017 | Sammi Loves Books

  2. Funny how the secondary character can sometimes be more interesting and complicated than the main character. I’ve heard other writers complain about this too, that their MC is so straightforward and thus boring, whereas they feel they can have more fun with the best friend or other secondary characters. Personally, I wouldn’t read the second book even if I already owned it. Although having said that, I’m struggling through a book of fairy tales that I’m really not enjoying because I feel like it’s a classic and I “really should.” I only get about two pages read before I fall asleep; it’s taking forever!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

