Book Review: Torment by Lauren Kate

Torment is the second book in the Fallen series by Lauren Kate.

Summary (blurb taken from back cover)

Love never dies…

It took Lucinda an eternity to find her beloved angel, Daniel.  But he waited for her.  Now they are forced apart again, to protect Luce from the Outcasts – immortals who want her dead.  During their separation, Luce learns about her mysterious past lives.  But the more she discovers, the more she suspects that Daniel is hiding something.

What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t true?  Is it really their destiny to be together?  Or is Luce actually meant to be with somebody else?

Favourite Quote

Sometimes beautiful things come into our lives out of nowhere.  We can’t always understand them, but we have to trust in them.  I know you want to question everything, but sometimes it pays to just have a little faith.

Review

After struggling to enjoy reading the first book in the series, I don’t know if I would have read the second, Torment, only I had already bought it when I purchased Fallen.  The covers pulled me in and persuaded me to buy them.  And I’m sort-of glad they did, because I enjoyed Torment more than the previous instalment and I wouldn’t have known that.

I’m still not a big fan of Luce – I think her attitude is all wrong and she just comes across as a really selfish person on occasion.  Again, it is her friend who I am more interested in as a character.  In the last book it was Penn.  This time round it is Luce’s hippy roommate Shelby.

Parts of the book were still slow-going in places, and still there is stuff going on which is alluded to but never explained.  It doesn’t make it mysterious, only confusing.  However, it was certainly more enjoyable than Fallen to read, and the end really set up the third book in the series nicely.  So much so, that I’m intrigued to find out what happens next, something which I couldn’t envision myself thinking at the end of book one.

Rating

3.5 / 5

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Torment by Lauren Kate

  1. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – June 2017 | Sammi Loves Books

    • I’m a sucker for pretty covers lately. The strange thing about mysterious v’s confusing with regards to this series is the problem is found in both books 1 and 2! I’m not sure how the lack of clarity when it comes to what is actually going on could have been overlooked twice…

      Liked by 1 person

      • It sounds believable to me — if she missed it the first time, seems likely that she’d keep making the same mistake.

        And being a sucker for pretty covers is a liability, I know. It’s gotten me stuck with a lot of mediocre, over-priced wine, as well. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I get that the author might overlook it twice, and maybe the agent / editor, also being quite close to the book, but you would think someone in-house would have noticed, if some reviewers on Goodreads managed to…

        Yes, wine labels too can have the same effect, lol 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • I think what helped me enjoy ‘Torment’ more than ‘Fallen’ was keeping my expectations low. I’m still not entirely sure about the series, but I am at least intrigued as to where it might be heading 🙂 I’ve just read your novel vs film review of Fallen – which was great. Though I haven’t seen the film, I agree with all of what you said about the book. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

