Bookish Reflections – June 2017

A monthly round up of all things bookish at Sammi Loves Books…It’s my attempt at becoming more accountable in my reading and reviewing habits…


 

In a nutshell

I’ve more or less caught up with my backlog of reviews.  There is only one now outstanding and as it’s a historical fiction book, I’ll save it and post it in August for Historical Fiction Month.  July is Indie Only Month (one of my favourite times here at Sammi Loves Books).  I’ve already got a few books earmarked for reading and reviewing,

Books I’ve reviewed

Favourite read of the month

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Books I’ve bought (or been given)

  • Allegiant by Veronica Roth
  • The Lancashire Witches by Harrison Ainsworth

Books I’ve downloaded

  • You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
  • Lie With Me by Sabine Durrant
  • Memory Man by David Baldacci

What I’ve been reading on Wattpad

June‘s “What I’m reading and reviewing next month” goals

  • Guenevere: The Queen of the Summer Country by Rosalind Miles [complete]
  • Fallen by Lauren Kate [complete]
  • Torment by Lauren Kate [complete]
  • Divergent by Veronica Roth [complete]
  • Insurgent by Veronica Roth [complete]
  • The Kalahari Typing School for Men by Alexander McCall Smith

What I’m reading and reviewing in July

July is Indie Only Month here at Sammi Loves Books, so the only books that I’ll be reviewing will be ones written and published by Indie authors.  And I’m very excited 🙂

Goodreads Reading Challenge

My goal is 57.  I have read 22.  39% complete.  Currently 6 books behind schedule.

Other reads (books not on Goodreads)* : 1

Total books read so far this year: 23


* “Other reads” means books that are not listed on Goodreads, but ones that are still of novel / novella length.  I’m not counting anthologies, single short stories, magazines / ezines, but I will count short story or poetry collections if they are not too short.

7 thoughts on “Bookish Reflections – June 2017

  1. Whew, that’s a lot of books, Sammi! I would have a hard time just keeping track of all of those, much less the reviews. I have just caught up on Goodreads, after being ahead for a while and then gradually falling behind. So I’m exactly on track, with 15 of 30 books read. I can’t even imagine squeezing in 57: you’re a fiend! (I mean that in a good way, obviously.) Looking forward to learning about some indie books in the next month. Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well done for catching up with your goodreads challenge, Joy.

      I’m starting to wonder if 57 might be a few too many. For the last few months I’ve been behind to some degree, but we shall have to see.

      The other problem is that some of the books I’ve been reading are on Wattpad and their not listed on goodreads unless the author has released them as ebooks elsewhere. So, their is the potential that I am going to be falling further behind this month than I anticipated…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

