Bookish Reflections – July 2017

A monthly round up of all things bookish at Sammi Loves Books…It’s my attempt at becoming more accountable in my reading and reviewing habits…


In a nutshell

July was Indie Only Month at Sammi Loves Books, so only Indie books were read and reviewed.  I think 2017’s selection of chosen reads were the best yet for this challenge.  I had so much fun and can’t wait for next July to come round so I can do it all again 🙂

Books I’ve reviewed

Favourite read of the month

Shadow of Doubt by Linda Poitevin / The Silence Between Moonbeams by Sarah Doughty

Books I’ve bought (or been given)

None this month.  I’ve been good! 🙂

Books I’ve downloaded 

  • Listen by Sarah Doughty
  • The Silence Between Moonbeams by Sarah Doughty
  • Norfolk Twilight by M.L. Eaton

What I’ve been reading on Wattpad

  • Shadow of Doubt by Linda Poitevin
  • A Body in the Backyard by Elizabeth Spann Craig
  • The Case of the Bygone Brother by Diane Burton

July‘s “What I’m reading and reviewing next month” goals

July was Indie Only Month at Sammi Loves Books, and as such I decided to set no definite reading goals.  I was definitely pleased to hit 7 books this months as I was only expecting to make 5 or 6.

What I’m reading and reviewing in August

August is Historical Fiction Month at Sammi Loves Books.  And my TBR pile for this challenge is almost floor-to-ceiling high.  I know in all likelihood I won’t get through more than 6 books, but I do have a tendency to get a little over excited for this reading challenge 🙂  Below is a selection of priority reads that I’ve earmarked for August – hopefully I will get through them all:

  • The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean Auel (read, reviewed and awaiting posting)
  • Stonehenge by Bernard Cornwall (read, awaiting reviewing)
  • The Iron Hand of Mar by Lindsey Davis (almost finished reading)
  • The Owl Killers by Karen Maitland – this is a re-read; I’ve read a Karen Maitland book every Historical Fiction Month so far, and I’m not intending to break the tradition 🙂
  • Traitor’s Gate by D.K. Wilson – I’ve read the first and third books in this fantastic series based on real Tudor crimes and I’m really looking forward to reading book 2.

Goodreads Reading Challenge

My goal is 57.  I have read 28.  49% complete.  Currently 5 books behind schedule.

Other reads (books not on Goodreads)* : 2

Total books read so far this year: 30


* “Other reads” means books that are not listed on Goodreads, but ones that are still of novel / novella length.  I’m not counting anthologies, single (very) short stories, magazines / ezines, but I will count short story or poetry collections if they are not too short.

7 thoughts on “Bookish Reflections – July 2017

  1. Wow, seven books in one month, what fun! And a great variety, too. Although I’m sure just narrowing it down to “Indie” only gives you, what, a billion to choose from? Well, there’s always next Indie month. Sounds like you’ve got some great picks lined up for historical fiction month, too. I’m looking forward to reading them vicariously through you. My own goals are much more modest: like, read *something*. I’ve decided August is a no-TV month, so that will help. When I get home late, instead of plopping down for “just a half hour of TV before bedtime”, I’m plopping down for “just a half hour of reading”… and next thing you know it’s more than half hour… I’m partway through four books right now — one novel, one collection of short stories, one writing craft book, and one novel beta read for a friend (so that doesn’t quite count). I should finish them soon, and can’t wait to see what’s next!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Seven books was quite the achievement, especially as a few months ago I only managed one short story in an entire month. This month is actually turning out to be the same as July – I’ve read five books already for historical fiction month, and I’ve started the sixth, but, as always, I’m behind with reviewing. I’m hoping to get caught up this week…

      How’s no-TV month going?

      Liked by 1 person

      • No-TV month is great! I did cheat a tiny bit last night by watching a clip of Tina Fey on Saturday Night Live that someone posted on Facebook, but that doesn’t really count. So far I’ve finished reading one writing craft book and am most of the way through another, read two novels, and am halfway through a third novel and also halfway through a short story collection. That’s about 4x more reading than I’ve been getting done per month, sad to say! But I’m not doing very well on my goal of cleaning out my “to read” bookshelf. I pulled three books off and.. just bought five more!

        I know what you mean about falling behind on the book reviews. I’ve been changing my procedure. Usually I write a lot of notes to myself, my own reaction to the book, focusing on aspects of writing that I want to remember and either emulate or avoid. And then I basically write a whole NEW review to put on Goodreads, but it usually still has the same flavor: not summarizing the book (because the summary is already there) but just giving my reaction. Now I’m basically giving up writing the long reviews for Goodreads and instead I write longer reviews for myself, starting with taking notes when I’m partway through, because it’s so hard to remember the beginning when you’ve finished it and know how it ends. Right now, for instance, I’m halfway through “Stranger in a Strange Land” and I swear the middle part is dull as rocks, so I’m taking notes now, before those reactions get written over by later ones (assuming it picks up and gets interesting again, that is).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Glad to hear that No-TV month is going well. 🙂

        Interesting review process. Taking notes as you go must really help with seeing the book as a whole clearly once you’ve finished. I would say, I would like to give that a go and see if it helps me keep on top reviewing books quickly after I’ve finished reading them, or even help me to write my reviews after weeks have passed since I closed the book for the last time, but I know I won’t manage it. Instead of stopping to write a few lines, I’ll just tell myself that I’ll remember it and carry on reading instead…

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s what I just did with the last book, despite my new idea! I zipped through it in three evenings, which is really fast for me, given how little time I have each evening (I admit to staying up past my bedtime, uh-oh). So, so much for stopping to reflect every few chapters! Ah well. I sat down to write my “writer’s review” the next night, so at least it was fresh in my mind. But before I was done with that, I picked up book 3 right away, lol…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Staying up past bedtime to read is one of those things that doesn’t seem so bad when you’re doing it. After all, one more chapter won’t make much of a difference, surely? Or that’s what I think until it’s time to get up the next morning lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

