Bookish Reflections – May 2024

Reading Goals for April 2024

My monthly reading goal for May was 4 books, which at the time I thought too steep to achieve. Yet, I was definitely in a reading mood in May. I managed to read 8 books, which is so many more than I thought I could do. Some of them had, for the most part, been read before May started. (Death at Devil’s Bridge had been a slow read throughout the year so far, and I was currently reading Indigo Slam when May began). I have also listened to a couple of audiobooks too, which has helped in the numbers game. All this means is that I am already over halfway towards my year target of 60 books read, with a whole month to go before the halfway point is reached. Yay!

What did I read in May 2024?

  1. The King’s Wife by Crispina Kemp – 5 /5
  2. Blue Shoes and Happiness by Alexander McCall Smith – 4 / 5
  3. Death at Devil’s Bridge by Robin Page – 3 / 5
  4. Indigo Slam by Robert Crais – 5 / 5
  5. Adrien Mole: The Wilderness Years by Sue Townsend – 4 / 5
  6. Adrien Mole: The Cappuccino Years by Sue Townsend – 4 / 5
  7. In the Company of Cheerful Ladies by Alexander McCall Smith – 5 / 5
  8. Death is Now My Neighbour by Colin Dexter – 5 / 5

What did I listen to in May 2024

  • The Withered Arm by Thomas Hardy – 4 / 5
  • The Chain of Destiny by Bram Stoker – 3 / 5 (probably closer to 2.5!)

Currently Reading

  • The Return of The King by J.R.R. Tolkien (year-long read-along)
  • Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens (listening to, slowly)
  • Haunted Britain and Ireland by Derek Acorah (slow read)
  • The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland (re-read)
  • Eragon by Christopher Paolini (re-read)

Number of books read in 2024

33 books so far!

What books did I buy in May 2024?

  • Hill of Bones by The Medieval Murderers

Reading Goals for June 2024?

  • I don’t think there is much chance of getting anywhere near this month’s numbers, so I will keep the goal at 4 books, as I have lots of editing of my own writing planned, which usually means I’m too tired to read…

2 thoughts on “Bookish Reflections – May 2024

  1. Gosh, Sammi!

    I’ve no idea what my monthly totals are, but Goodreads tells me I’ve read 46 so far this year which is massive compared with the 30-something for the whole of 2023.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.