Sammi Loves Books Reading Challenge 2019

I thought this would be a fun and entertaining challenge for the year ahead.

If you would like to join in, please feel free to do so.  Grab the graphic if you want to, download the PDF checklist (at the bottom of the page, optional), and if you post book reviews to a blog or website, feel free to tag your post with: Sammi Loves Books Reading Challenge 2019 so others can find what you’ve been reading for the challenge in the WordPress reader:

It’s up to you whether you complete all the challenges or just some of them. I recommend allocating only one book to each challenge, rather than using one book to complete multiple challenges, but the final choice is ultimately yours to make.

The Challenges
  1. A book you read as a child / young adult
  2. A book you would class as one of your favourites
  3. A book set in a place you’ve lived / visited
  4. A book set in a place you would like to visit
  5. A book by a favourite author that you’ve not yet read
  6. A book with a girl’s name in the title
  7. A book you would class as a classic*
  8. A book you would class as an educational read*
  9. A book you’ve not read but one you really should have by now
  10. A book you wouldn’t usually read
  11. A book you received as a gift
  12. A book that’s sat on your shelf for longer than you’d care to remember
  13. A book you’ve read before
  14. A book of poetry or short fiction
  15. A book that was recommended to you
  16. A book you didn’t finish on your previous attempt to read it
  17. A book that has been adapted for TV or film
  18. A book that promotes happiness or well-being, or one that has an uplifting message
  19. A book by an indie author
  20. A book written by an author who has the same initials as you

*How you interpret “classic” or “educational read” is up to you

If you would like to download a handy list of the challenges so that you can tick them off as you go, here’s a PDF checklist (it’s only one side of A4): sammi loves books reading challenge 2019

Wishing you lots of book fun!

39 thoughts on “Sammi Loves Books Reading Challenge 2019

  1. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – May and June 2021 | Sammi Loves Books

  2. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – February, March & April 2021 | Sammi Loves Books

  3. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – January 2021 | Sammi Loves Books

  4. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – December 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  5. Pingback: Short Story Review: A Strange Christmas Game by Charlotte Riddell | Sammi Loves Books

  6. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – November 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  7. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – September and October 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  8. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – August 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  9. Pingback: Book Review: Death at Daisy’s Folly by Robin Paige | Sammi Loves Books

  10. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – July 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  11. Pingback: Book Review: Death Pays A Visit by Elizabeth Spann Craig | Sammi Loves Books

  12. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – June 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  13. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – May 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  14. Pingback: Book Review: The Leper of Saint Giles by Ellis Peters | Sammi Loves Books

  15. Pingback: Poetry Book Review: What the Owl Taught Me by Annest Gwilym | Sammi Loves Books

  16. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – April 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  17. Pingback: Book Review: What Katy Did by Susan Coolidge | Sammi Loves Books

  18. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – March 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  19. Pingback: Book Review: The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths | Sammi Loves Books

  20. Pingback: Book Review: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett | Sammi Loves Books

  21. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – January & February 2020 | Sammi Loves Books

  22. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – October 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  23. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – September 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  24. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – August 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  25. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – July 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  26. Pingback: Book Review: The Watchmaker’s Daughter by C. J. Archer | Sammi Loves Books

  27. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – June 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  28. Pingback: Book Review: Master and God by Lindsey Davis | Sammi Loves Books

  29. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – May 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  30. Pingback: Book Review: Njal’s Saga translated and edited by Robert Cook | Sammi Loves Books

  31. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – March 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  32. Pingback: Book Review: The Misbegotten by Katherine Webb | Sammi Loves Books

  33. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – February 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  34. Pingback: Book Review: The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter – Hieroglyph Edition | Sammi Loves Books

  35. Pingback: Book Review: The Vicar of Wakefield by Oliver Goldsmith | Sammi Loves Books

  36. Pingback: Bookish Reflections – January 2019 | Sammi Loves Books

  37. Hmm, interesting idea! I would have a hard time with #3 though, since I’m mostly reading secondary world fantasy and science fiction these days. But I do read urban fantasy sometimes… But I can already tell I wouldn’t get all 20, because there are no books that meet the criteria for #16. The only book I can remember not finishing was “Stranger in a Strange Land,” which started off interesting, but by the time I was about two-thirds of the way through, I just hated it. I skipped ahead and read the last chapter or two to see if it got better, and it didn’t, so I just stopped. (I didn’t throw it across the room, but I thought about it, lol!) No way would I go back and read it all the way through: I didn’t finish it for a good reason!

    Which makes me curious: what kind of book did you not finish, and why, that you think it would be a good idea to go back and revisit?

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are some challenges on the list that I know I’m going to struggle with, but I hope therein lies at least some of the fun as I try and make it work 🙂

      There have been only a handful of books I’ve never finished. Usually, I’m very good at picking books I know I’ll enjoy and that I’m in the mood to read, but I’ve had a few slip ups over the years. These I can put down to not being in the mood to read on the whole – Poison Study by Maria Snyder was one, but when I tried to read it again a year later, I loved it and now am invested in the series.

      The book I’ve struggled hardest with in recent years was The Suspicions of Mr Whicher: or the Murder at Hill House by Kate Summerscale. I’m interested in the subject matter, but by the time I got a third of the way through it, I decided I had to put it aside because there was just too much information to wade through. Too heavy going to read before bed. But I know I’ll revisit this and give it another try at some point, maybe this year, for the challenge. I also didn’t complete reading Wuthering Heights the last time I picked it up but I was reading it for a book club which fizzled out halfway through the reading, and I was writing detailed chapter reviews as I went along. Again, that was a few years ago. There have been a couple of others but these two are the ones that stick out in my mind.

      If I really hated a book, I wouldn’t revisit it either. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • For what you describe, it makes sense that you might want to go back and revisit it. I agree, sometimes you have to be in the right frame of mind for a book. I read Wuthering Heights some years ago, but that was in the middle of a tear I was on, reading all the Austen, Gaskell, and Bronte books I could find — so I was definitely in the right mood.

        It occurred to me since my previous comment that I do have a couple of nonfiction books that I haven’t finished: put a bookmark in and stuck them back in the TBR shelf. Again, because I wasn’t in the right mood for them / it wasn’t the story research I needed at the moment. So in theory that would be a possibility.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.