Bookish Reflections – January 2019

A monthly round up of all things bookish at Sammi Loves Books…It’s my attempt at becoming more accountable in my reading and reviewing habits…


In a nutshell

So far this year, my new schedule for this blog seems to be working.  There was only one blip, this week (the final week of January), where I’ve had a lot of personal stuff going on, including my birthday, where things went a little crazy for a couple of days.  However, I quickly got back on track. Yay!

So four books read and reviewed this month – I’m on target.  Three out of the four were Five Star Reads so definitely a good month for book choices.

I am behind with answering a few emails I’ve received but I will get round to that no later than the end of the first week of February.  So please be patient with me…

I still don’t feel like I’m in a position yet to re-open to book review requests.  In the mean time, I have a new feature for the blog…Afternoon Tea at Sammi Loves Books – basically author / poet interviews.  There is a list of ten set questions about writing, reading and afternoon tea, so if you would like to be interviewed, please email me at: sammicoxbooks@gmail.com and I will send you over the questions…

Books I’ve reviewed

Other Book-Related Posts

Favourite read(s) of the month

  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Books I’ve bought (or been given)

  • The Crow Trap by Ann Cleeves
  • Death of an Avid Reader by Frances Brody
  • How to be a Tudor by Ruth Goodman

Books I’ve downloaded

  • None – yay!

What I’ve been reading on Wattpad

  • Quite a bit – there’s an ongoing novella writing contest and I’ve been reading some wonderful stories.  Check out my Wattpad profile (link in the sidebar) and explore my Open Novella Contest 2019 reading list for interesting suggestions

January’s “Read and Review” Goals*

  • Death of an Airman by Christopher St John Sprigg

* Light blue = review posted | Blue = review not posted | Black = did not read / review

What I’m reading and reviewing in February

  • St Peter’s Fair by Ellis Peters (read, awaiting reviewing)
  • The Magician’s Apprentice by Trudi Canavan (currently reading)

Goodreads Reading Challenge

My goal is 40.  I’ve read 4.  10% complete.

Other reads (books not on Goodreads): 0

Total books read so far this year: 4

Sammi Loves Books Reading Challenge 2019

I’ve completed the following challenges from the list this month:

  • 9 – A book you’ve not read but you really should of by now – The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Total challenges complete: 1 / 20

You can find the complete list of challenges here.

A to Z Review Index Challenge

None completed this month. 0 / 2

Read, Review, Rehome

Goal: 20 | Total so far: 1 / 20

  • Ancient Egyptians: Mummies, Temples and Tombs by Clive Dickinson

7 thoughts on “Bookish Reflections – January 2019

  1. Pingback: Afternoon Tea at Sammi Loves Books (Author Interviews) | Sammi Loves Books

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.