Bookish Reflections – March 2020

A monthly round up of all things bookish at Sammi Loves Books…It’s my attempt at becoming more accountable in my reading and reviewing habits…


In a nutshell

March was a good month for books at Sammi Loves Books.  Six reviews posted, two of which were for books that had been waiting to be reviewed for quite a while!  Not only that, I’ve been reading quite a bit too though I am trying to do it in a measured way (ha!) so that I don’t get completely swamped by a backlog of reviews – that list is long enough as it is! So far so good…

I’ve also started to review the audiobooks I’ve been listening to, which is something I’ve not done before.  I don’t listen to audiobooks all that much as I find I need to be actively reading, especially over a prolonged period, in order to not drift away and give my attention to something else.  What I have found though is that a chapter here and there, when doing easy household tasks or as a break from computer-based work, works very well for me, at least for the moment…

If any writers / poets / authors / etc, would like to be interviewed as part of Afternoon Tea at Sammi Loves Books check out this page for more information, FAQs and an index of all the previous interviews.  If you’ve any questions, please do get in touch at: sammicoxbooks@gmail.com

To keep up-to-date with what I’m reading and reviewing, find me on Facebook and Goodreads.

Books I’ve reviewed

Other Book-Related Posts

  •  None this month

Favourite read(s) of the month

  •  The Spinner’s Child by Crispina Kemp

Books I’ve bought (or been given)

  •  None – woohoo! This makes a change!

Books I’ve downloaded

  •  The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett (audio book)

What I’ve been reading on Wattpad

  • Not very much recently unfortunately…I hope that changes soon…

March’s “Read and Review” Goals*

  • The Spinner’s Child by Crispina Kemp
  • Murphy’s Law by Rhys Bowen
  • Blood Queen by Joanna Courtney
  • Dawnthief by James Barclay
  • The War of The Worlds by H.G. Wells

* Light blue = review posted | Blue = review not posted | Black = did not read / review

What I’m reading and reviewing in April

  • The War of The Worlds by H.G. Wells (read, review awaiting posting)
  • The Leper of St Giles by Ellis Peters (read, awaiting review)
  • Birds of a Feather by Jacqueline Winspear (currently reading)
  • What Katy Did by Susan Coolidge (currently listening to)

Basic Book Review Challenge 2020

To post (at least) one book review a week, to reach a target of 52 over the course of the year.

Month started at: 5 / 52

Month finished at: 11 / 52

Sammi Loves Books Reading Challenge 2019

I’m revisiting this challenge I started last year, to complete the challenges I missed. I’ve completed the following challenges from the list this month:

  • #13: a book you’ve read before
  • #16: a book you didn’t finish on your previous attempt to read it

Total challenges completed in 2019: 8 / 20

Total challenges completed in 2020: 3 / 12

Total: 11 / 20

You can find the complete list of challenges here.

A to Z Review Index Challenge

  • No change here – Still the letter “I” to go.

Challenge status: 1 / 2

Read, Review, Rehome

Goal: 20 | Total so far: 4 / 20

  • Dawnthief by James Barclay
  • Murphy’s Law by Rhys Bowen
  • Blood Queen by Joanna Courtney

7 thoughts on “Bookish Reflections – March 2020

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.